Design, control and optimisation of intelligent mechatronic systems

Model-based design is an essential technology in the design of mechatronic systems. Both the specification of components such as actuators and sensors as well as control synthesis and system testing are based on models. The integration of modelling and simulation is therefore of crucial importance in the development of intelligent mechatronic products.

Va­can­cies in the work­group

Research assistant (f/m/d) for the Control Engineering and Mechatronics workgroup

Developing new concepts for the use of Car2X communication and autonomous vehicles for resource-efficient driving functions and traffic control systems | Testing in the real laboratory | Identification of starting points for further research work | Teaching obligation of usually 2 SWS | Pay grade 13 TV-L

To the job advert

SHK activity (m/f/d) "Development and construction of innovative mechatronic straightening systems"

Support in the development of mechatronic systems in the field of production technology | Construction and commissioning of prototype systems | Implementation of functional tests on the test bench | Support in test evaluation and further development of the system control

To the job advert

SHK activity (m/f/d) "Development of a property-driven flow-forming process"

student assistant to support the project in modelling the process | support in test evaluation & further development of the system control | flexible working hours | practical relevance

To the job advert

SHK/WHB activity (m/f/d) "Tutor for courses"

Tutor for courses "Control Engineering" & "Fundamentals of Mechatronics and System technology"| Supporting students in solving tasks | Preparing the tasks dealt with preparation of the tasks | organisation of tutorials | participation in weekly meetings weekly meeting | if necessary, revision of revision of exercise content | limited to lecture period

To the job advert

„The development of intelligent technical systems is characterized by constantly increasing complexity and a high level of interdisciplinary cooperation.”

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ansgar Trächtler,
Head of the "Control Engineering and Mechatronics" workgroup at the Heinz Nixdorf Institute at Paderborn University from Paderborn

News from the specialist group

30.04.2024

We con­grat­u­late Kev­in Malena on his doc­tor­ate

Read more
18.04.2024

Por­trait of a sci­ent­ist: Nik­las Fit­tkau

Read more
03.04.2024

"Con­trol En­gin­eer­ing and Mechat­ron­ics" work­group rep­res­en­ted at the 94th "GAMM An­nu­al Meet­ing 2024"

Read more
30.11.2023

Sci­ent­ist por­trait

Read more
07.11.2023

Con­trol en­gin­eer­ing and mechat­ron­ics spe­cial­ist group con­tin­ues to grow

Read more
27.10.2023

Sci­ent­ists from our Con­trol En­gin­eer­ing and Mechat­ron­ics Group rep­res­en­ted at MECC 2023 in Nevada

Read more
More news

Team, pub­lic­a­tions, bach­el­or/mas­ter theses

Pub­lic­a­tions

Bach­el­or/Mas­ter theses

Re­search, teach­ing, pro­jects

Re­search

In control design, we deal with the control of non-linear coupled multi-variable systems, with optimal controls, model predictive controls and methods for observer design; the fields of application include driver assistance systems, robotics and intelligent machines.

Research topics

Teach­ing

We are intensively involved in teaching and training students and young academics such as doctoral candidates, postdoctoral researchers and junior professors with the aim of providing them with the skills they need to shape the future.

Courses

Pro­jects

We can provide companies with significant impetus for innovation and for maintaining their competitiveness. There are many approaches to this. They range from the placement of graduates through collaborative projects to contract developments, which we generally carry out via our spin-offs.

Project overview

„How does a tractor manage to pull several tonnes with ease? How do even more tonnes stay in the sky at a height of several kilometres? These were the questions I asked myself. At the time, I didn't know that control engineering combined exactly the things that really interested me about machines.”

Michael Hesse,
Scientists from the "Control Engineering and Mechatronics" workgroup from Paderborn

Föllinger con­trol tech­no­logy

This textbook, founded by Otto Föllinger, was first published in 1972 and has become a standard work on control engineering. It achieves its aim of familiarising the reader with the conceptual system and methodology of control engineering and its application through its systematic structure, good readability and practical relevance. No emphasis is placed on mathematical rigour, but rather on ensuring that the motivation behind the concepts and procedures is clear, that the conclusions can be easily understood and remain as descriptive as possible. Numerous realistic examples confirm the efficiency of the theoretical methods.

Entwurf, Regelung und Optimierung intelligenter mechatronischer Systeme

Der modellbasierte Entwurf ist eine wesentliche Technologie bei der Auslegung mechatronischer Systeme. Sowohl die Spezifikation von Komponenten wie Aktoren und Sensoren wie auch die Regelungssynthese und der Systemtest beruhen auf Modellen. Die Integration von Modellierung und Simulation hat somit eine entscheidende Bedeutung bei der Entwicklung intelligenter mechatronischer Produkte.

Stel­len­an­ge­bo­te der Fach­grup­pe

wissenschaftliche*r Mitarbeiter*in (w/m/d) für die Fachgruppe Regelungstechnik und Mechatronik

Erarbeiten neue Konzepte zum Einsatz von Car2X-Kommunikation und autonomen Fahrzeu- gen für ressourceneffiziente Fahrfunktionen und Verkehrssteuerungssysteme | Erprobung im Reallabor | Identifizierung von Anknüpfungspunkten für weiterführende Forschungsarbeiten| Lehrverpflichtung im Umfang von i.d.R. 2 SWS | Entgeltgruppe 13 TV-L

Zur Stellenanzeige

SHK-Tätigkeit (m/w/d) "Entwicklung und Aufbau innovativer mechatronischer Richtsysteme"

Unterstützung bei Entwicklung mechatronischer Systeme im Bereich der Fertigungstechnik | Aufbau und Inbetriebnahme von prototypischen Systemen | Durchführung von Funktionstests am Prüfstand | Ünterstützung bei Versuchsauswertung und Weiterentwicklung der Anlagensteuerung

Zur Stellenanzeige

SHK-Tätigkeit (m/w/d) "Entwicklung eines eigenschaftsgetriebenen Drückwalzprozesses"

studentische Hilfskraft zur Unterstützung des Projektes bei Modellierung des Prozesses | Unterstützung bei Versuchsauswertung & Weiterentwicklung der Anlagensteuerung | flexible Arbeitszeiten | Praxisbezug

Zur Stellenanzeige

SHK-/WHB-Tätigkeit (m/w/d) "Tutor*in für Lehrveranstaltungen"

Tutor für Lehrveranstaltungen „Regelungstechnik“ & „Grundlagen der Mechatronik und System- technik“| Unterstützung Studierendenr bei der Lösung von Aufgaben | Vor- bereitung der behandelten Aufgaben | Durchführung von Tutorien | Teilnahme an wöchent- licher Besprechung | ggf. nötige Über- arbeitung von Übungsinhalten | befristet auf Vorlesungszeit

Zur Stellenanzeige

„Die Entwicklung intelligenter technischer Systeme zeichnet sich durch stetig steigende Komplexität und hohe interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit aus.”

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ansgar Trächtler,
Leiter der Fachgruppe "Regelungstechnik und Mechatronik" am Heinz Nixdorf Institut der Universität Paderborn aus Paderborn

News der Fachgruppe

30.04.2024

Wir gra­tu­lie­ren Ke­vin Ma­le­na zu sei­ner Pro­mo­ti­on

Mehr erfahren
18.04.2024

Wis­sen­schaft­ler im Por­trät: Ni­klas Fitt­kau

Mehr erfahren
03.04.2024

Fach­grup­pe "Re­ge­lungs­tech­nik und Me­cha­tro­nik" beim 94. "GAMM An­nu­al Mee­ting 2024" ver­tre­ten

Mehr erfahren
30.11.2023

Wis­sen­schaft­ler-Por­trait

Mehr erfahren
07.11.2023

Fach­grup­pe Re­ge­lungs­tech­nik und Me­cha­tro­nik wächst wei­ter

Mehr erfahren
27.10.2023

Wis­sen­schaft­le­r*in­nen un­se­rer Fach­grup­pe Re­ge­lungs­tech­nik und Me­cha­tro­nik auf MECC 2023 in Ne­va­da ver­tre­ten

Mehr erfahren
Weitere Neuigkeiten

Team, Pu­bli­ka­ti­o­nen, Ba­che­lor/Mas­ter­a­r­bei­ten

Pu­bli­ka­ti­o­nen

Ba­che­lor/Mas­ter­a­r­bei­ten

For­schung, Leh­re, Pro­jek­te

For­schung

Beim Regelungsentwurf befassen wir uns mit der Regelung nichtlinearer verkoppelter Mehrgrößensysteme, mit Optimalsteuerungen, modellprädiktiven Regelungen und Verfahren zum Beobachterentwurf; die Anwendungsfelder umfassen Fahrerassistenzsysteme, Robotik, intelligente Maschinen.

Forschungsthemen

Leh­re

Wir engagieren uns intensiv in der Lehre und Ausbildung von Studierenden und Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen wie Doktorand*innen, Habilitand*innen und Juniorprofessor*innen mit dem Ziel, ihnen die Voraus­setzung für die Gestaltung der Zukunft zu vermitteln.

Lehrveranstaltungen

Pro­jek­te

Wir können Unternehmen wesentliche Impulse für Innovationen und für den Erhalt ihrer Wettbewerbsfähigkeit geben. Dafür gibt es viele Ansätze. Sie reichen von der Vermittlung von Absolventen über Verbundprojekte bis hin zu Auftragsentwicklungen, die wir in der Regel über unsere Spin-offs durchführen.

Projektübersicht

„Wie schafft es ein Traktor, mehrere Tonnen mit Leichtigkeit zu ziehen? Wie halten sich noch mehr Tonnen in Kilometern Höhe am Himmel? Fragen, die ich mir ursprünglich stellte. Ich wusste damals noch nicht, dass Regelungstechnik genau die Dinge vereint, die mich an Maschinen wirklich interessierten.”

Michael Hesse,
Wissenschaftlern aus der Fachgruppe "Regelungstechnik und Mechatronik" aus Paderborn

Föl­lin­ger-Re­ge­lungs­tech­nik

Das von Otto Föllinger begründete Lehrbuch ist 1972 erstmals erschienen und zu einem Standardwerk der Regelungstechnik geworden. Sein Ziel, den Leser mit dem Begriffssystem und der Methodik der Regelungstechnik sowie deren Anwendung vertraut zu machen, erreicht es durch systematischen Aufbau, gute Lesbarkeit und Anwendungsnähe. Auf mathematische Strenge ist kein Wert gelegt, wohl aber darauf, dass die Motivation von Begriffen und Verfahren einsichtig wird, dass sich die Schlussweisen ohne Mühe nachvollziehen lassen und soweit wie möglich anschaulich bleiben. Zahlreiche realistische Beispiele bestätigen die Leistungsfähigkeit der theoretischen Methoden.