Software engineering "Secure by Design"

Following the principle of security and privacy by design, the "Secure Software Engineering" workgroup thrives to support software developers in designing and implementing software systems that are known upfront to be secure with respect to certain attack vectors. Opposed to offensive approaches to software security, like ethical hacking, our group specializes on constructive techniques for software security. Our recipe to success is a unique novel combination of program synthesis and analysis techniques.

In our workgroup, we develop languages, mechanisms, processes and tools that allow software developers to clearly state security requirements and, if possible, synthesize partial implementations that achieve or help achieve these requirements. In cases where automated synthesis is impossible, and a programmer hence needs to implement security features by hand, we use automated program analyses to assist the programmer in deciding whether the implementation indeed fulfills the stated security requirements.

Va­can­cies in the work­group

Post-Doc Mitarbeiter*in (w/m/d)

Completed doctorate in the fields of software engineering, programming languages or IT security | Collaboration with doctoral students with regard to their doctorate | Further development of own research and teaching | Collaboration in the design and formulation of scientific funding applications | 3-year fixed-term contract | Pay grade 14 TV-L

To the job advert

Post-doc employee (f/m/d)

Collaboration with doctoral students with regard to their doctorate | Further development of own research and teaching as well as that of the department with a teaching obligation of usually 4 SWS | Collaboration in the design and formulation of scientific funding applications | 3-year fixed-term contract | Pay grade 14 TV-L

To the job advert

Research assistant (f/m/d)

Collaboration in research and teaching (usually 4 SWS) in the field of Secure Software Engineering | Collaboration in externally funded research projects of the department | Organisation of courses of the department | Pay group 13 TV-L | 3 years fixed-term contract

To the job advert

„Software has been the Achilles heel of IT security for years. The vast majority of attacks actually exploit quite trivial vulnerabilities in application software. Companies that produce software need to systematically rethink their approach and develop this software securely from the ground up.”

Prof. Dr. Eric Bodden,
Head of the "Secure Software Engineering" workgroup at the Heinz Nixdorf Institute at Paderborn University from Paderborn

News from the workgroup

10.05.2024

We con­grat­u­late Thor­sten Koch on his doc­tor­ate

Read more
22.04.2024

Por­trait of a sci­ent­ist: Jo­nas Klauke

Read more
11.04.2024

ERC Grant for Out­stand­ing Re­search Awar­ded to Pader­born Uni­ver­sity Re­search­er

Read more
08.04.2024

Sci­ent­ists from our Se­cure Soft­ware En­gin­eer­ing group present at TACAS 2024

Read more
03.04.2024

Sci­ent­ists from our "Se­cure Soft­ware En­gin­eer­ing" work­group at the IC­SE in Lis­bon

Read more
26.03.2024

We con­grat­u­late An­dreas Dann on his doc­tor­ate

Read more
23.01.2024

Se­cure Soft­ware En­gin­eer­ing spe­cial­ist group con­tin­ues to grow

Read more
28.11.2023

Eric Bod­den is part of the DFG re­view board for soft­ware en­gin­eer­ing

Read more
17.11.2023

Pader­born Uni­ver­sity sci­ent­ists are new acat­ech mem­bers

Read more
10.10.2023

Fach­gruppe Se­cure Soft­ware En­gin­eer­ing wächst weit­er

Read more
22.08.2023

markt & wirtschaft west­falen im In­ter­view mit Eric Bod­den

Read more
22.08.2023

Ka­nadis­che In­form­atik-Pro­fess­or­in forscht dank Hum­boldt-Sti­pen­di­um am Heinz Nix­dorf In­sti­tut der Uni­versität Pader­born

Read more
More news

Team, pub­lic­a­tions, bach­el­or/mas­ter theses

Pub­lic­a­tions

Bach­el­or's and Mas­ter's theses

Re­search, teach­ing, pro­jects

Re­search

We research, develop and evaluate methods and tools to design secure software systems from the ground up. In many software development processes currently in use, the security of software systems is unfortunately still treated as secondary. As a result, security aspects are often considered too late.

Research topics

Teach­ing

We are intensively involved in the teaching and training of students and young academics such as doctoral candidates, post-doctoral candidates and junior professors with the aim of providing them with the skills they need to shape the future.

Courses

Pro­jects

We can provide companies with significant impetus for innovation and for maintaining their competitiveness. There are many approaches to this. They range from the placement of graduates through collaborative projects to contract developments, which we generally carry out via our spin-offs.

Project overview

„Even as a child, I was interested in everything that had to do with technology. During my computer science studies, I specialised in security, because software is used everywhere, but is also full of security vulnerabilities. For the past 20 years, water polo has given me a break from my desk.”

Martin Mory,
Scientists from the "Secure Software Engineering" workgroup at the Heinz Nixdorf Institute at Paderborn University from Paderborn

3 ques­tions for Eric Bod­den

A spell check­er for de­velopers? - Eric Bod­den in con­ver­sa­tion

Eric Bod­den ex­plains his de­part­ment in 1 minute.

Software entwickeln "Secure by Design"

Dem Prinzip von Security and Privacy by Design folgend versuchen wir die Entwickler*innen dabei zu unterstützen, softwarelastige Systeme so zu entwerfen und zu implementieren, dass diese in Bezug auf zuvor festgelegte Angriffsvektoren von Grund auf sicher sind. Im Gegensatz zu offensiven Techniken der IT-Sicherheit, wie Ethical Hacking, spezialisieren wir uns auf konstruktive Methoden der Softwaresicherheit. Unser Erfolgsrezept ist eine einzigartige, neuartige Kombination von Programmanalyse- und Synthese.

Wir entwickeln Sprachen, Mechanismen, Prozesse und Werkzeuge, die es Entwickler*innen gestatten, Sicherheitsziele klar zu formulieren und, wo möglich, zumindest Teilimplementierungen zu generieren, die diese Voraussetzung automatisch erfüllen. Wo dies nicht möglich ist, wird versucht manuell geschriebenen Programmcode mittels automatisierter Codeanalyse auf Schwachstellen und Sicherheitseigenschaften hin zu untersuchen.

Stellenangebote der Fachgruppe

Post-Doc Mitarbeiter*in (w/m/d)

Zusammenarbeit mit Promovierenden in Hinblick auf deren Promotion | Weiterentwicklung der eigenen Forschung und Lehre sowie der des Fachgebiets mit einer Lehrverpflichtung im Umfang von i.d.R. 4 SWS | Mitarbeit an der Gestaltung und Formulierung von wissenschaftlichen Förderanträgen | 3 Jahre befristet | Entgeltgruppe 14 TV-L

Zur Stellenanzeige

Wissenschaftliche*r Mitarber*in (w/m/d)

Mitarbeit in Forschung und Lehre (i.d.R. 4 SWS) im Bereich des Secure Software Engineering | Mitarbeit an drittmittelfinanzierten Forschungsprojekten des Fachgebiets | Durchführung von Lehrveranstaltungen des Fachgebiets | Entgeltgruppe 13 TV-L | 3 Jahre befristet

Zur Stellenanzeige

„Die große Achillesferse der IT-Sicherheit ist seit Jahren die Software. Die allermeisten Angriffe nutzen eigentlich recht banale Schwachstellen in Anwendungssoftware aus. Hier müssen Unternehmen, die Software produzieren, systematisch umdenken und diese Software von Grund auf sicher entwickeln.”

Prof. Dr. Eric Bodden,
Leiter der Fachgruppe "Secure Software Engineering" am Heinz Nixdorf Institut der Universität Paderborn aus Paderborn

News der Fachgruppe

11.04.2024

ERC Grant für herausragende Forschung an Wissenschaftler der Universität Paderborn vergeben

Mehr erfahren
08.04.2024

Wissenschaftler unserer Fachgruppe Secure Software Engineering präsentieren auf der TACAS 2024

Mehr erfahren
03.04.2024

Wissenschaftler unserer Fachgruppe "Secure Software Engineering" auf der ICSE in Lissabon

Mehr erfahren
26.03.2024

Wir gratulieren Andreas Dann zu seiner Promotion

Mehr erfahren
23.01.2024

Fachgruppe Secure Software Engineering wächst weiter

Mehr erfahren
28.11.2023

Eric Bodden ist Teil des DFG-Fachkollegiums für Softwaretechnik

Mehr erfahren
17.11.2023

Wissenschaftler der Universität Paderborn sind neue acatech-Mitglieder

Mehr erfahren
10.10.2023

Fachgruppe Secure Software Engineering wächst weiter

Mehr erfahren
22.08.2023

markt & wirtschaft westfalen im Interview mit Eric Bodden

Mehr erfahren
22.08.2023

Kanadische Informatik-Professorin forscht dank Humboldt-Stipendium am Heinz Nixdorf Institut der Universität Paderborn

Mehr erfahren
Weitere Neuigkeiten

Team, Publikationen, Bachelor/Masterarbeiten

Publikationen

Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten

Forschung, Lehre, Projekte

Forschung

Wir erforschen, entwickeln und bewerten Methoden und Werkzeuge, um Softwaresysteme von Grund auf sicher zu gestalten. In vielen im Einsatz befindlichen Softwareentwicklungsprozessen wird die Sicherheit von Softwaresystemen leider immer noch als nebensächlich behandelt. In Folge dessen werden Sicherheitsaspekte oft erst zu spät berücksichtigt.

Forschungsthemen

Lehre

Wir engagieren uns intensiv in der Lehre und Ausbildung von Studierenden und Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen wie Doktorand*innen, Habilitand*innen und Juniorprofessor*innen mit dem Ziel, ihnen die Voraus­setzung für die Gestaltung der Zukunft zu vermitteln.

Lehrveranstaltungen

Projekte

Wir können Unternehmen wesentliche Impulse für Innovationen und für den Erhalt ihrer Wettbewerbsfähigkeit geben. Dafür gibt es viele Ansätze. Sie reichen von der Vermittlung von Absolventen über Verbundprojekte bis hin zu Auftragsentwicklungen, die wir in der Regel über unsere Spin-offs durchführen.

Projektübersicht

„Schon als Kind fand ich alles interessant, was mit Technik zu tun hatte. Im Informatik-Studium habe ich mich dann auf "Security" spezialisiert, denn Software wird überall eingesetzt, ist gleichzeitig aber voller Sicherheitslücken. Den Ausgleich vom Schreibtisch bietet mir seit 20 Jahren Wasserball.”

Martin Mory,
Wissenschaftler der Fachgruppe "Secure Software Engineering" am Heinz Nixdorf Institut der Universität Paderborn aus Paderborn

3 Fragen an Eric Bodden

Eine Rechtschreibprüfung für Entwickler? - Eric Bodden im Gespräch

Eric Bodden erklärt sein Fachgebiet in 1 Minute.