Former Al­gorithms and Com­plex­ity Group of the Heinz Nix­dorf In­sti­tute

Prof. Dr. Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide

High Per­form­ance = In­nov­at­ive Com­puter Sys­tems + Ef­fi­cient Al­gorithms

High computing performance can only be achieved with a combination of powerful computer systems and algorithms that solve the given application problems as efficiently as possible. Therefore, the development of efficient algorithms has established itself as a classical branch of computer science.

In our research area, we concentrate on solutions where current technological possibilities, such as high performance computer networks, mobile wireless communication networks or systems supported by specialised hardware, pose new challenges for algorithm development.

Prof. Dr. Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide has been retired since 1.8.2023. We therefore no longer offer Bachelor's and Master's theses or internships. From 1.8.2023, the research assistants are members of the working group of Prof. Dr. Christian Scheideler

2022

2019

2018

2017

Cur­riculum Vitae

Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide is Full Professor of Algorithms and Complexity at the Heinz Nixdorf Institute and the Department of Computer Science in the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Computer Science and Mathematics at Paderborn University since 1989. He received his doctorate in mathematics from the University of Bielefeld in 1981 and habilitated in computer science at the Johann Wolfgang Goethe University in Frankfurt in 1986. From 1984 to 1985, he was a visiting researcher at IBM Research in San Jose, California, USA. From 1986 to 1989, he worked as Professor of Theoretical Computer Science in Dortmund and moved from there to Paderborn. He has been retired since 2023.

In 1986, he was awarded the prize for the best habilitation at the Johann Wolfgang Goethe University in Frankfurt. In 1992, he was awarded the Leibniz Prize of the German Research Foundation together with his colleague Burkhard Monien. In 2007, he was admitted to the German Academy of Sciences "Leopoldina", in 2013 to the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, Humanities and the Arts and in 2017 to the German Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech). In 2021, he was awarded the SIROCCO Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing. In 2024, he became an EATCS-Fellow.

Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide was director of the DFG Research Training Group "Parallel Processor Networks in Production Technique " (1992-2001), the Collaborative Research Centers 376 "Massive Parallelism" (1995-2006) and 901 "On the Fly Computing" (2011-2023), as well as coordinator of the EU Integrated Project "Dynamically Evolving Large Scale Information Systems (DELIS)" (2004-2008). He has worked for the DFG in various functions, including as a member of the Review Board for Computer Science (2000-2008), the Heisenberg Committee and the DFG-DAAD program "Doctoral Studies at Universities in Germany" (2003, 2008). He was also a member of the Scientific Directorate of the Leibniz Center for Computer Science "Schloß Dagstuhl" (2005-2008) and the Advisory Board of the Max Planck Institute for Computer Science, Saarbrücken (2001-2011), as well as General Chair of the ACM Symposium Series "Parallelism in Algorithms and Architectures (SPAA)" (2007-2011), Head of the Federal Jury Mathematics/Computer Science of the Federal Competition "Jugend Forscht" (2007-2016) and Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Leibniz Center for Computer Science "Schloß Dagstuhl" (2014 - 2021). He has been a member of numerous program committees, including the SPAA, ICALP and ESA conferences.

His research interests include algorithmic and complexity-theoretic issues in parallel computing, communication and data management in networks, dynamics in networks, computer graphics algorithms, and randomization methods. He is (co-)author of over 200 publications and several patents. To date, he has supervised over 50 doctorates and 14 of his students now hold professorships.

Pub­lika­tion­en

Doc­tor­ates and ha­bil­it­a­tions of the group

2023

2020

2019

2018

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

2002

2000

1999

1998

1997

1996

1995

1994

Habilitations

  • Martin Ziegler: Real Computability and Hypercomputation, 14.3.2008
  • Christian Schindelhauer: Communication Network Problems, 9.2002
  • Christian Scheideler: Probabilistische Methoden für Koordinierungsprobleme, 30.06.2000
  • Artur Czumaj: Randomization and Approximation Techniques for some Combinatorial Problems, 22.12.1999
  • Martin Dietzfelbinger: Universal hashing in sequential, parallel, and distributed computing, 12.1992

Re­search pro­jects

Projects

Graduate schools

Projects of Christian Sohler at Paderborn

Software Libraries

Ehe­ma­li­ge Fach­grup­pe Al­go­rith­men und Kom­ple­xi­tät des Heinz Nix­dorf In­sti­tut

Prof. Dr. Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide

Ho­he Re­chen­leis­tung = In­no­va­ti­ve Com­pu­ter­sys­te­me + Ef­fi­zi­en­te Al­go­rith­men

Hohe Rechenleistung kann nur durch eine Kombination von leistungsfähigen Computersystemen und Algorithmen, die das gegebene Problem so effizient wie möglich lösen, erreicht werden. Daher hat sich die Entwicklung von effizienten Algorithmen als klassischer Zweig der Informatik etabliert.

Unsere Forschung konzentriert sich auf Fragestellungen, in denen aktuelle technische Möglichkeiten, wie z. B. Hochleistungsrechnernetzwerke, drahtlose, mobile Kommunikationsnetze oder durch Spezialhardware unterstützte Systeme, neue Herausforderungen für den Entwurf effizienter Algorithmen darstellen.

Prof. Dr. Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide ist seit dem 1.8.2023 in Pension. Deshalb vergeben wir keine Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten und auch keine Internships mehr. Die wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiter sind ab dem 1.8.2023 Mitglieder der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Dr. Christian Scheideler

2022

2019

2018

2017

Cur­ri­cu­lum Vi­tae

Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide ist seit 1989 Professor für Algorithmen und Komplexität am Heinz Nixdorf Institut und am Institut für Informatik der Fakultät für Elektrotechnik, Informatik und Mathematik der Universität Paderborn. Er promovierte 1981 an der Universität Bielefeld in Mathematik und habilitierte sich 1986 an der Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität Frankfurt in Informatik. Von 1984 bis 1985 war er Gastforscher bei IBM Research in San Jose, Kalifornien, USA. 1986 bis 1989 arbeitete er als Professor (C3) für Theoretische Informatik in Dortmund und wechselte von dort nach Paderborn. Seit 2023 ist er pensioniert.

1986 wurde ihm der Preis für die beste Habilitation der Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität Frankfurt verliehen. 1992 wurde er gemeinsam mit seinem Kollegen Burkhard Monien mit dem Leibniz-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft ausgezeichnet. 2007 wurde er in die Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher „Leopoldina“, 2013 in die Nordrhein-Westfälische Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Künste und 2017 in die Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften (acatech) aufgenommen. 2021 wurde er mit dem SIROCCO Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing ausgezeichnet, 2024 zum EATCS-Fellow ernannt.

Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide war Sprecher des DFG-Graduiertenkollegs „Parallele Rechnernetze in der Produktionstechnik“ (1992-2001), der Sonderforschungsbereiche 376 „Massive Parallelität“ (1995-2006) und 901 "On the Fly Computing" (2011-2023), sowie Koordinator des EU-Integrierten Projekts „Dynamically Evolving Large Scale Information Systems (DELIS)“ (2004-2008) . Er war in verschiedenen Funktionen für die DFG tätig, u. a. als Mitglied des Fachkollegiums Informatik (2000-2008), des Heisenberg-Ausschusses und des DFG-DAAD Programms "Promotion an Hochschulen in Deutschland" (2003, 2008). Zudem war er Mitglied des wissenschaftlichen Direktoriums des Leibniz-Zentrums für Informatik „Schloß Dagstuhl“ (2005-2008) und des Fachbeirats des Max-Planck-Instituts für Informatik, Saarbrücken (2001-2011), sowie General Chair der ACM-Symposiums-Reihe „Parallelism in Algorithms and Architectures (SPAA)“ (2007-2011), Leiter der Bundes-Jury Mathematik/Informatik des Bundeswettbewerbs “Jugend Forscht“ (2007-2016) und Vorsitzender des Wisssenschaftlichen Beirats des Leibniz-Zentrums für Informatik „Schloß Dagstuhl“ (2014 - 2021). Er war Mitglied zahlreicher Programmkomitees, als Leiter u.a. für die Tagungen SPAA, ICALP und ESA.

Seine Forschungsinteressen beinhalten algorithmische und komplexitätstheoretische Fragestellungen zu parallelem Rechnen, Kommunikation und Datenverwaltung in Netzwerken, Dynamik in Netzwerken, Algorithmen der Computergraphik, sowie Randomisierungsmethoden. Er ist (Co-)Author von über 200 Publikationen und mehreren Patenten. Bisher wurden über 50 von ihm betreute Promotionen abgeschlossen, 14 seiner Schüler haben mittlerweile Professuren inne.

Pu­bli­ka­ti­o­nen

Pro­mo­ti­o­nen und Ha­bi­li­ta­ti­o­nen der Fach­grup­pe

2023

2020

2019

2018

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

2008

2007

2006

2005

2004

2003

2002

2000

1999

1998

1997

1996

1995

1994

Habilitationen

  • Martin Ziegler: Real Computability and Hypercomputation, 14.3.2008
  • Christian Schindelhauer: Communication Network Problems, 9.2002
  • Christian Scheideler: Probabilistische Methoden für Koordinierungsprobleme, 30.06.2000
  • Artur Czumaj: Randomization and Approximation Techniques for some Combinatorial Problems, 22.12.1999
  • Martin Dietzfelbinger: Universal hashing in sequential, parallel, and distributed computing, 12.1992

For­schungs­pro­jek­te

Projekte

Graduiertenkollegs

Projekte von Christian Sohler in Paderborn

Entwickelte Software Bibliotheken