Home > Research Groups > Strategic Product Planning and Systems Engineering

Strategic Product Planning and Systems Engineering

Identifying and Exploiting Success Potentials of Tomorrow

Product and production system innovations are important levers for ensuring prosper­ity and employment in the future. Mechanical engineering and related areas, such as the automotive industry, are playing a key role today. These sectors demonstrate the relevant success potentials of the future. It is essential to identify these potentials early on and to exploit them at the right time.

Information and communication technology does not just lead to increased productivity. It also leads to the creation of new products and new markets. Our general aim is to increase the innovative strength of industrial companies. We develop methods and procedures.

multidisciplinary: Systems engineering is required to develop these products. Product engineering describes a process that starts with the initial product or business idea and continues until market entry. The process involves three main fields of activity: strategic product planning, product development and product system development.

With all due devotion to Industry 4.0: the rollout and employment of IT systems is the result and not the starting point of a deliberate chain of action.

Effective IT systems need well-structured business processes, which in turn follow an innovative business model. The latter aims at exploiting the potentials of tomorrow. In our bestseller “Futureoriented structuring of companies” we elaborate how companies can find their specific way to Industry 4.0.

Our research focuses are as follows:


Our spin-offs UNITY AG and Smart Mechatronics GmbH, and the Fraunhofer Project Group “Mechatronic Systems Design”, all transfer our research results into real practice.

The aim of our teaching principles: we provide seminars and theses in our research areas. We communicate entrepreneurial and innovation skills.

Selected contributions

Startseite > Fachgruppen > Strategische Produktplanung und Systems Engineering

Strategische Produktplanung und Systems Engineering

Erfolgspotentiale der Zukunft erkennen und erschließen

Produkt- und Produktionssysteminnovationen sind der entscheidende Hebel für Zukunftssicherung und Beschäftigung. Der Maschinenbau und verwandte Branchen, wie die Automobilindustrie, nehmen heute eine Schlüsselstellung ein. Diese Branchen weisen aber auch erhebliche Erfolgspotenziale der Zukunft auf. Diese gilt es frühzeitig zu erkennen und recht­zeitig zu erschließen.

Die Produkte des Maschinenbaus und verwandter Branchen sind multidisziplinär; sie zu entwickeln erfordert Systems Engineering. Produktentstehung beschreibt den Prozess von der ersten Produkt- bzw. Geschäftsidee bis zum Markteintritt und umfasst die Hauptaufgabenbereiche Strategische Produktplanung, Produktentwicklung, Dienstleistungsentwicklung und Produktionssystementwicklung.

Bei aller Hinwendung zu Industrie 4.0 darf nicht übersehen werden, dass die Einführung und Nutzung von IT-Systemen am Ende einer gut überlegten Handlungskette steht und nicht am Anfang; das Pferd darf nicht von hinten aufgezäumt werden.

Wirkungsvolle IT-Systeme benötigen wohlstrukturierte Geschäftsprozesse; diese folgen wiederum einem innovativen Geschäftsmodell, das darauf abzielt, die Erfolgspotenziale der Zukunft zu erschließen. Mit unserem Bestseller „Zukunftsorientierte Unternehmensgestaltung“ zeigen wir, wie ein Unternehmen seinen spezifischen Weg zu Industrie 4.0 finden kann.

Unsere Forschungsschwerpunkte sind:

Unsere Spin-offs UNITY AG und Smart Mechatronics GmbH sowie das Fraunhofer IEM transferieren unsere Forschungsergebnisse in die Praxis.

In der Lehre konzentrieren wir uns auf Seminare, Studien- und Abschlussarbeiten in den Forschungsbereichen. Wir vermitteln Unternehmensführungs- und Innovationskompetenz.

Ausgewählte Beiträge