Home > Research Groups > Algorithms and Complexity > Algorithmic Game Theory Group

Algorithmic Game Theory Group


Alexander Skopalik headed the Algorithmic Game Theory Group. Now he is Assistant Professor at the University of Twente.

In many relevant problems - e.g. in large decentralized networks - the question of resolution through a central authority is no longer the focal point, but the distributed resolution through a multitude of actors. Here, actors often chose their strategies according to their egoistic interests, which may lead to resolutions, worse than those from a central authority.

On the one hand, we investigate how much the actor's strategic actions influence the resolution's quality. On the other hand, we are interested in forecasting, to which resolutions strategic actions may lead.

Our research combines methods from various areas of computer science, mathematics, and economics including

  • algorithms and complexty including online, approximation, and randomized algorithms,
  • distributed systems,
  • combinatorial optimization,
  • game theory, and
  • operations research.

Learn more about our research topics here!


  • Jan Bürmann
  • Jerome Kempf
  • Arne Kemper
  • Marcel Stienemeier
  • Vipin Ravindran Vijayalakshmi

Associated members


If you are interested in particpating in our research by writing your Bachelor's or Master's thesis on algoritmic game theory, just contact one of us and drop by for a cup of coffee or tea.

For our lectures and seminar see here for more information.


We are always looking for motivated students who want to support us in our research as student assistants. A good understanding of algorithms and a strong interest in theoretical computer science should be present, but we also have more applied tasks like programming and simulating of algorithms. Just contact one of us and drop by for a cup of coffee or tea.


Past Visitors

  • John Augustine, IIT Madras
  • John Jacobs, University of Rochester
  • Grammateia Kotsialou, University of Liverpool
  • Daniel Schmand, RWTH Aachen
  • Menghsuan Sam Pan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Kacper Wardega, The Ohio State University
  • Angelo Fannelli, CNRS France
  • Martin Gairing, University of Liverpool
  • Sascha Geulen, RWTH Aachen
  • Azam Ramezanipour, Bu-Ali Sina University, Hamedan, Iran